Originally named Middleton after the builder of its first-ever siding, Doonside was re-named in 1910 to avoid confusion with Middleton in the Eastern Cape. The name Doonside comes from the house, Lorna Doone, which overlooked the siding.


Prior to 1942, this was known as Southern Umlazi, and is believed to have been named after Richard Philip (Dick) King who rode on horseback to the town from Grahamstown to assist the beleaguered British troops in 1842. A largely undiscovered coastal gem, it retains some old-school seaside charm.

Leave a Comment